Monday, February 26, 2024

Swarnim Vijay Varsh victory flame accorded grand reception at Tezpur

The celebration to commemorate 50 years of Glorious Victory in 1971 is being celebrated as ‘Swarnim Vijay Varsh’ in year 2021. Honourable Prime Minister lit the ‘Victory Flame’ from the eternal flame of the National War Memorial, New Delhi on 16 Dec 2020, marking the beginning of the Swarnim Vijay Varsh celebrations of India’s victory over Pakistan in 1971. The Victory Flame has moved in all cardinal directions passing through the villages and towns of Param Vir Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra awardees of 1971 war.

In continuation of celebrations to commemorate the golden jubilee of 1971 Indo-Pak War,
the Victory Flame reached Tezpur amidst grand reception on 08 September 2021. A wreath laying ceremony was held at Gajraj War Memorial and 1971 War Veterans were felicitated by GOC Gajraj Corps. The victory flame was then taken to Solmara Military Station with full military honours where a series of events involving Veterans, Civil Dignitaries, school children and local populace were organised.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles